You don't have to lay them flat but you do need to be able to seal the bag, and the contents have to … Answer 31 of 85: This is my first time travelling hand-baggage only. Mascara is supposed to be in the baggie. For liquids as long as they are I think 3-4 fluid ounces and you put it in a clear plastic bag and take it out when u go through the xray thingy you will be fine. Sealed sample packets of thigng like eye cream, hand cream, etc. I have never heard the people at the airport say you have to take lipbalm out because it is a liquid. I understand that my saline solution, BB cream, toothpaste and hand sanitiser will have to go in the liquid bag. The list of items currently restricted in carry-on baggage includes hand and body lotion, roll-on or aerosol deodorant, liquid makeup foundation, shampoo and conditioner, lip balms, liquid soaps, shave cream and mascara. Eyeliner pencils, lipsticks, powder blushers, powder eyeshadows and powder bronzer (for example) are fine to go in your cabin bag. The normal guideline is that all liquid must be in a bottle 100ml or less.